Jackson’s Department Store opened in Reading in 1875.
The store was well-known for its traditional approach to customer service. Customers were personally served by staff from handmade wooden cabinets. And generations of school children – as well as Scouts, Guides, and Brownies – flocked to Jacksons for their latest uniforms.
Jacksons remained a family-owned business for 138 years, until its doors were closed for the last time on Christmas Eve 2013.
Jacksons of Reading is a community display created by Thomas Macey. Mr Macey served for many years on the shop's floor and has an unrivalled knowledge of the shop’s history.
The display features two precise replica models (commissioned by Mr Macey) of Jacksons Corner and the early shopfront, as well as Mr Macey’s unique collection of Jackson’s ephemera and artefacts. It guarantees a journey down memory lane for visitors both young and old.
Discover the display in Reading Museum's Show and Tell community case from the 23rd November 2021 to the 7th May 2022.